One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M McManus 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5

“I’m the omniscient narrator,” Simon says

Bronwyn’s brows rise above her black frames. “There’s no such thing in teen movies.”

“Ah, but Bronwyn.” Simon winks and chugs his water in one long gulp. “There is such a thing in life.”

He says it like it threat, and I wonder if he’s got something on Bronwyn for that stupid app of his. I hate that thing. Almost all my friends on it at one point or another, and sometimes it causes real problems. My buddy Luis and his girlfriend broke up because of something Simon wrote. Although it was a true story about Luis hooking up with his girlfriend’s cousin. But still. That stuff doesn’t have to be published.  Hallway gossip is bad enough.

And if I’m being honest, I’m pretty freaked at what Simon could write about me if he put his mind to do it.

Simon took hold of his cup, grimacing. “This taste like crap.” He drops the cup, and I roll my eyes at his attempt of drama. Even when he hits floor, I think he’s messing around. But then the wheezing starts.

DSC_0223

Normally when I’m reading a book to review, I’ll stop every few chapters, think about what happened write what I liked and what I didn’t like and thoughts on the book, but with One Of Us Is Lying… I don’t know what to write because I didn’t stop reading this book.Once I picked it up that was it, the rest of my day was gone!

DSC_0225At first thought this was just going to be a typical high school book just maybe centred around a dead guy, (basically I thought this book was just going to be the breakfast club with a death) but God was I wrong. This book is well written, thought provoking and gripping, and it is safe to say I LOVED it, I don’t think I have anything bad to say about it, except maybe the ending was slightly predictable (but that might just be me) but even with the ending (no spoilers!) there is a twist on what I though was going to happen so it still wasn’t a disappointment.

This book draws you in and keeps you captivated, I loved the writing style, where you get the story from the 4 “suspects” points of view, but the way it’s written you don’t get confused, which can be easily done with this type of book. Another thing I like about this book is how it doesn’t take ages to get back to one of the characters, so you don’t forget about whats has happened with one of he other characters.

DSC_0226

The only thing that does annoy me is that this is her first and only book, however she has just revealed that there is going to be a sequel in 2020 but before that there will be another book released in January 2019 called “Two Can Keep a Secret” which I am really looking forward to. Until then all I can do is keep rereading this and wait for the next one!!

If you liked this book I would recommend reading Genuine Fraud or We Were Liars (by e.lockhart), Big Little Lies or The Husband Secret (Liane Moriarty)

DSC_0227

SaveSave

Leave a comment